Skip to main content

The Disaster Resilience Goals

These are set out in a Commission Recommendation and accompanying Communication. They will point the EU to five strategic areas where Member States and the Commission need to work together in order to strengthen our collective capacity – to withstand future disasters, to protect citizens, and to safeguard livelihoods, as well as the environment.

Presentation of the Union Disaster Resilience Goals



Improving risk assessment, anticipation, and disaster risk management planning.
EU Civil Protection in Poland


Increasing risk awareness and preparedness of the population.
Alert Enhancing early warning


Enhancing early warning.
EU solidarity to combat wildfires across the continent


Enhancing the Union Civil Protection Mechanism response capacity.
EU Emergency Response Coordination Centre


Ensuring a robust civil protection system.

Success stories: Prevention and preparedness projects supported by the Union Civil Protection Mechanism